News Flash

City - News

Posted on: June 24, 2019

Class of nine graduates from new FMFD recruit training program

FMFD recruit class graduates Jun2019

FORT MYERS, FL (June 24, 2019) – Nine new members of the Fort Myers Fire Department were sworn in on Friday, June 21. The recruits graduated from an inaugural training program conducted by FMFD as a follow-on to the candidate’s successful completion of their initial firefighter training at the Southwest Florida Public Service Academy. There ceremony also included FMFD’s 2018 Service Awards and recognition of department promotions.

Graduates honored at Friday’s ceremony included Chasity Norman, Billy Somers, Michael Intile, Martika Gordash, Andrew Reyes, Cole Pfaff, Bryan Jones, Torey Haun and Bryan Christensen. Captain Neil Graham was recognized as the 2018 Firefighter of the Year, and Firefighter Nick Minuzzi was the 2018 Paramedic of the Year. The Life Saving Medal went to Engineer Sharon Davis. Other award winners and promotion recognitions were as follows:

Exceptional Service Awards

Captain Peter Consolazio

Captain Todd Poland

Captain John Lovato

Captain Mike Deke

Engineer John Krizka

Engineer Bill Miller

Firefighter Yasniel Garcia

Firefighter Evan Pounders

Firefighter Alan Leitschuh

Firefighter Faby Ramirez

Firefighter Phil Botting

Unit Citation Awards

Captain Peter Consolazio

Engineer Scott Gage

Firefighter Mike Amador

Engineer Ray Rodriguez

Engineer Bill Damewood

Firefighter Kris Pawelczyk

Captain George Camargo

Engineer Brad Parker

Firefighter Tim Jones

Firefighter Josh Painter

Certificate of Appreciation

Firefighter Alan Leitschuh

Engineer John Trujillo


Deputy Fire Chief Tracy McMillion

Engineer Michael Gross

Engineer Chris Tyler

Engineer Andrew Ivey

Engineer Vinny Colombo

Engineer Freddy Martinez

For more information, please contact Stephanie Schaffer at 239-321-7157 or

Facebook Twitter Email