About the Department


The City of Fort Myers is a coastal community located in Southwest Florida, approximately 100 miles south of Tampa.  Situated on the south bank of the Caloosahatchee River, the City is the 6th largest metropolitan area in Florida, and the oldest city in Lee County.  As such an unprecedented number of people have discovered the model climate as an ideal location to visit and to relocate.  The City is rich in diversity and culture with a population of more than 75,000 residents. 

Fire Services

The Fort Myers Fire Department protects an area of 49.9 square miles, which includes 10 square miles of the Caloosahatchee Waterway.  Fire protection is provided by numerous facilities which include six (6) fire stations each house an engine and rescue trucks, including truck companies at two (2) of the fire stations.  The department provides suppression, advanced emergency medical services, and is the county response hazardous materials team, and marine emergency response.

The Fort Myers Fire Department currently employs 130 line personnel, with an additional seven personnel assigned to the Fire Prevention Bureau.

Department Divisions

The Fire Department is made up of 5 divisions.