Community Development

About the Department

The Community Development Department serves thousands of citizens with properties located within the city limits of Fort Myers each year with a wide range of services associated with:
Check Case Status

Department Divisions

The department is comprised of 5 divisions:
  1. Administration
  2. Building, Permitting and Inspections
  3. Code Enforcement
  4. Housing and Real Estate
  5. Planning

Administration Division

The Administrative Division is responsible for:
  • Administrative duties related to Office of the Director
  • Customer service, cashiering, and cash handling
  • Fiscal management and budget oversight
  • GIS mapping
  • Oversight of entire department operations
  • Statistical reporting

Mission Statement

"To ensure courteous, consistent, dependable and trustworthy public service through quality management of the Community Development Department in a stimulating work environment with the tools necessary to efficiently and effectively perform the duties and responsibilities of the department."